Quote

“I can’t give you a surefire formula for success but I can give you a formula for failure: try to please everybody all the time.”

– Herbert Bayard Swope

 
This quote always rings true to my heart.  Whenever I feel down or held back I take a look at what I am doing with my life.  Am I living accordingly to others standards or expectations?  Do I make choices based on information given by friends or family?  Am I living my life the way I want to live it?  If I am feeling down or held back the answer to all of these questions usually unravels itself out to yes.
If we can try to understand this concept each day when we wake up our lives will be filled with happiness and joy.  I know I feel much more open and free when I am living by my own expectations and standards.  We will ultimately please others by making sure we are stable and content with who we are and what we’re doing, no matter what it is.
Don’t worry about making others happy at the expense of your own happiness.  Find what you want to do and commit to it 100% and I assure you, success will begin to show itself more and more.
 
Peace, love, and happiness!

formula for failure

2 responses »

  1. Every person has their own opinion about what you should be doing…but they all have one thing in common, each person develops that opinion from his or her unique and equally limiting experiences. Of course every person thinks their way is the right way, otherwise they have to admit that their way might not be the right way, and what would that mean for their life? It is much easier to reprimand someone else for trying to do something different.

    I think as well as being ourselves, we should also learn to accept that not everyone can be like us, actually, no one should be like me, that would go against the law of nature which has created such incredible diversity. Only human beings have developed categorization for their own organizational purposes and we have lost so much of the essence that makes us who we are. Instead we turn into a bunch of statistics and job titles, rather than individual collections of qualities, ideals, and values like the most renowned individuals of all time, the people who are remembered.

    In fact now that I think about it, the most remembered people of all time had to make one group of people really mad. Everyone remembers Lincoln, but the Southern States were really, really mad about what he did, everyone remembers MLK, and he did amazing things but they made a lot of people really upset as well. Seems to be a paradox, in order to make peace we have to wage war, fight through adversity and overcome antagonism.

  2. Pingback: formula for failure « Musicians-Make-It.com Blog

Leave a Reply

